Comparison · updated 2026-11-01

Instant Pot stainless vs Cuckoo coating-free vs Zojirushi nonstick: rice & pressure cookers compared

We compared what the rice actually sits on in ten rice and pressure cookers: Instant Pot's 18/8 stainless pot, Cuckoo's coating-free stainless LHTAR, Zojirushi's PFA nonstick, and models from Aroma, Tiger, Ninja, Breville, Cuisinart and Hamilton Beach.

How to read verdicts: Pass = primary food/water contact is metal, glass, or disclosed silicone-only seals with no plastic. Partial = usable if you skip a coated accessory, or plastic remains on lids/seals. Fail = plastic or fluoropolymer/nonstick cooking surface in the normal use path.

Stainless pots are easy to find in multicookers and hard to find in premium rice cookers. Instant Pot's standard inner pot is 18/8 stainless with no coating. The lid holds a silicone ring and steam-path parts whose materials Instant doesn't fully publish, so it lands at partial. Cuckoo's CRP-LHTAR0609F is one of the few induction pressure rice cookers that ships with an uncoated 3-ply stainless pot. Zojirushi's top NP-NWC makes excellent rice in a platinum-infused nonstick pan, and its AB1200 disclosure lists PFA. Most other brands we checked (Tiger, Ninja, Breville, Cuisinart, Hamilton Beach) coat the pot. Some of those coatings are called ceramic or PFAS-free, and they are still coatings.

Materials table

Swipe sideways to see all columns →

ModelVerdictPriceFood-contact materialsMade inWarranty
Pass Passes
Aroma ARC-757SG / ARC-757SGB / ARC-757SGRPass$55.00
checked 2026-11-01
100% food-grade 304 stainless steel inner pot (uncoated); Tempered glass lid; Serving spatula / measuring cup (accessories — plastic typical; not the cooking pot)Not confirmed this check1-year limited (Aroma product page)
Cuckoo CRP-LHTAR0609FPass$599.99
checked 2026-11-01
Built-in 3-ply stainless steel inner pot, no synthetic coating (Cuckoo); Rubber packing (lid seal, part CCP-DH06); polymer grade not named by Cuckoo; Inner lid / steam path parts: materials not publishedSouth Korea (Cuckoo spec table)1-year limited manufacturer (Cuckoo spec table)
Partial Partial
Instant Pot Duo Plus 6 Qt (SKU 112-0169-01)Partial$139.99
checked 2026-11-01
18/8 (304) stainless steel inner pot, tri-ply bottom; aluminum core not food-facing (Instant Pot FAQ); Stainless steel steam rack (Instant Pot); Silicone sealing ring (disclosed; absorbs odors); Lid underside: anti-block shield, float valve + silicone cap; full materials not publishedNot confirmed this check1-year limited (instantpot.com product page)
Fail Fails
Tiger JAX-T10U / JAX-T18UFail—
checked 2026-11-01
Aluminum inner pot with fluorine coating (Tiger product page); PFAS intentionally added (Tiger state-regulations disclosure)Japan1-year limited on electric products (Tiger USA product page)
Zojirushi NP-NWC10 / NP-NWC18Fail$634.99
checked 2026-11-01
Platinum-infused nonstick inner pan, 1.7 mm (Zojirushi); PFA per AB1200 disclosure; Stainless steel inner lid (detachable)JapanNot confirmed this check
Breville BPR700BSSUSCFail$329.95
checked 2026-11-01
Ceramic-coated removable cooking bowl (Breville: PTFE/PFOA-free); Silicone lid seal (disclosed); Stainless steamer basket and rack (included accessories)Not confirmed this check1 year (Breville spec table)
Cuisinart CPC-900NASFail—
checked 2026-11-01
Nonstick-coated 6-qt cooking pot (Cuisinart listing; coating chemistry not named)Not confirmed this check3-year limited per Cuisinart listing (not re-verified live)
Hamilton Beach 37548MNFail$66.99
checked 2026-11-01
Removable pot with PFAS-free ceramic nonstick coating (Hamilton Beach); 2-in-1 rice rinser / steam basket (material not stated)Not confirmed this checkNot stated on product page
Ninja OL601Fail—
checked 2026-11-01
Discontinued
Aluminum pot with ceramic nonstick coating (Ninja support FAQ); AB1200 sheet: PTFE + aluminum for OL600 series made before 8/15/24; Ceramic-coated Cook & Crisp basket; Silicone ring (replacement kit 108GX600)Not confirmed this checkNot confirmed this check
Quick answer: want rice-cooker convenience with no coating? Get Cuckoo CRP-LHTAR0609F (premium, pressure + induction, made in South Korea) or Aroma ARC-757SG (basic, about $55). Want a pressure cooker too? Get Instant Pot Duo Plus with its stock stainless pot. Skip the optional ceramic-coated pot.

SKU traps to avoid

Recall check 2026-11-01: CPSC SaferProducts API and Health Canada recall open data, matched by brand and model. No recall matches any model on this page. FDA does not run appliance recalls; it was not applicable here. Prices were checked 2026-11-01 (America/Los_Angeles) on the linked brand pages unless noted.

Product notes

Pass Passes

Aroma Select Stainless ARC-757SG rice cooker

Aroma Select Stainless Rice & Grain Cooker 14-Cup

Pass

Aroma · Model ARC-757SG / ARC-757SGB / ARC-757SGR

Why: Brand + manual: food-grade 304 stainless uncoated inner pot; tempered glass lid. Same materials pattern as existing ARC-753SG pass. Lid handle is exterior plastic; cooking surface is uncoated stainless.

Price checked
$55.00 · 2026-11-01
Food-contact
  • 100% food-grade 304 stainless steel inner pot (uncoated)
  • Tempered glass lid
  • Serving spatula / measuring cup (accessories — plastic typical; not the cooking pot)
Made in
Not confirmed this check
Warranty
1-year limited (Aroma product page)

Watch-outs

  • Basic feature set
  • Stainless needs scrubbing
  • CA Prop 65 warning on product page
  • Confirm spatula material if counting utensils as food contact

Sources

Photo source: Manufacturer product image · Manufacturer site image mirrored locally; swap for Associates API when available

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Disclosure.

Cuckoo Cuckoo IH Twin Pressure Rice Cooker (coating-free stainless pot)

Cuckoo IH Twin Pressure Rice Cooker (coating-free stainless pot)

Pass

Cuckoo · Model CRP-LHTAR0609F · 4.4★ (5 ratings)

Why: Ships with built-in 3-ply stainless inner pot with zero synthetic cooking-surface coating. Made in South Korea. Optional coated pot sold separately — stay with the included stainless pot.

Price checked
$599.99 · 2026-11-01
Food-contact
  • Built-in 3-ply stainless steel inner pot, no synthetic coating (Cuckoo)
  • Rubber packing (lid seal, part CCP-DH06); polymer grade not named by Cuckoo
  • Inner lid / steam path parts: materials not published
Made in
South Korea (Cuckoo spec table)
Warranty
1-year limited manufacturer (Cuckoo spec table)

Watch-outs

  • Expensive
  • Stainless pot needs more scrubbing than nonstick
  • Lid seal is 'rubber packing'; Cuckoo does not name the polymer
  • Lookalike CRP-LHTR0609F ships with a coated Xwall pot and cannot take the stainless pot

Sources

Photo source: Manufacturer product image · Manufacturer site image mirrored locally

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Disclosure.

Partial Partial

Instant Pot Instant Pot Duo Plus 6-Quart (stainless inner pot)

Instant Pot Duo Plus 6-Quart (stainless inner pot)

Partial

Instant Pot · Model Duo Plus 6 Qt (SKU 112-0169-01)

Why: Instant Pot says the inner pot is 18/8 (304) stainless with a tri-ply bottom whose aluminum core does not touch food, and no chemical coating. The steam rack is stainless too. The sealing ring is disclosed silicone. We stop at partial because the underside of the lid also carries the anti-block shield, float valve and silicone cap, and Instant does not publish materials for every one of those steam-path parts.

Price checked
$139.99 · 2026-11-01
Food-contact
  • 18/8 (304) stainless steel inner pot, tri-ply bottom; aluminum core not food-facing (Instant Pot FAQ)
  • Stainless steel steam rack (Instant Pot)
  • Silicone sealing ring (disclosed; absorbs odors)
  • Lid underside: anti-block shield, float valve + silicone cap; full materials not published
Made in
Not confirmed this check
Warranty
1-year limited (instantpot.com product page)

Watch-outs

  • Not a traditional rice-cooker form factor
  • Silicone ring holds odors; Instant suggests separate rings for sweet/savory
  • Do not buy the optional ceramic-coated inner pot if you are avoiding coatings

Sources

Photo source: Product photo via manufacturer · Mirrored locally from public product page

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Disclosure.

Fail Fails

Tiger Tiger JAX-T10U / 18U Rice Cooker

Tiger JAX-T10U / 18U Rice Cooker

Fail

Tiger · Model JAX-T10U / JAX-T18U

Why: Aluminum inner pot with fluorocarbon/fluorine nonstick; Tiger USA regulatory page discloses intentionally added PFAS for nonstick. Made-in-Japan quality that fails coating rule.

Price checked
Price: varies / not listed · 2026-11-01
Not listed on Tiger's US product page; retailer prices vary. Not verified this check.
Food-contact
  • Aluminum inner pot with fluorine coating (Tiger product page)
  • PFAS intentionally added (Tiger state-regulations disclosure)
Made in
Japan
Warranty
1-year limited on electric products (Tiger USA product page)

Watch-outs

  • Nonstick PFAS coating

Sources

Photo source: Product photo via manufacturer page · Mirrored locally from public product page; replace with Associates API when available

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Disclosure.

Zojirushi Zojirushi Pressure IH Rice Cooker NP-NWC10/18

Zojirushi Pressure IH Rice Cooker NP-NWC10/18

Fail

Zojirushi · Model NP-NWC10 / NP-NWC18

Why: Excellent rice cooker and Made in Japan, but the inner cooking pan is platinum-infused nonstick. Zojirushi's California AB1200 disclosure lists PFA for NP-NWC10/18. Fails a no-coating rule.

Price checked
$634.99 · 2026-11-01
NP-NWC10 $634.99; NP-NWC18 $669.99 (Zojirushi store, 2026-11-01)
Food-contact
  • Platinum-infused nonstick inner pan, 1.7 mm (Zojirushi); PFA per AB1200 disclosure
  • Stainless steel inner lid (detachable)
Made in
Japan
Warranty
Not confirmed this check

Watch-outs

  • Nonstick coated pot
  • AB1200 PFA disclosure

Sources

Photo source: Product photo via manufacturer page · Mirrored locally from public product page; replace with Associates API when available

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Disclosure.

Breville Fast Slow Pro Multifunction Pressure Cooker

Fail

Breville · Model BPR700BSSUSC

Why: The removable 6-qt cooking bowl has a ceramic coating (Breville says PTFE/PFOA-free). It is still a coated cooking surface, and the bowl is the only part that holds food. The silicone lid seal is disclosed.

Price checked
$329.95 · 2026-11-01
Food-contact
  • Ceramic-coated removable cooking bowl (Breville: PTFE/PFOA-free)
  • Silicone lid seal (disclosed)
  • Stainless steamer basket and rack (included accessories)
Made in
Not confirmed this check
Warranty
1 year (Breville spec table)

Watch-outs

  • Coated bowl; Breville sells no uncoated stainless bowl for this model that we could find
  • Breville's BPR700 manual PDFs returned 404 on 2026-11-01; materials taken from the product page

Sources

Retailer link (not an Amazon Associates link). Disclosure.

Cuisinart 12-in-1 Multicooker 6 Qt (pressure)

Fail

Cuisinart · Model CPC-900NAS

Why: Cuisinart's listing describes a 6-quart nonstick cooking pot inside a brushed stainless housing. The stainless is the outside of the machine; food sits on a nonstick coating.

Price checked
Price: varies / not listed · 2026-11-01
A search-index copy of the cuisinart.com page showed $189.95. The live page blocked our fetcher on 2026-11-01 and one third-party site calls the model discontinued, so price and availability are unverified.
Food-contact
  • Nonstick-coated 6-qt cooking pot (Cuisinart listing; coating chemistry not named)
Made in
Not confirmed this check
Warranty
3-year limited per Cuisinart listing (not re-verified live)

Watch-outs

  • Current availability unverified (cuisinart.com blocked automated checks). We list no buy links until it is confirmed.
  • Stainless housing is not the cooking surface

Sources

Hamilton Beach 14-Cup Digital Rice/Hot Cereal Cooker

Fail

Hamilton Beach · Model 37548MN

Why: Hamilton Beach says the removable pot has a 'PFAS-free ceramic nonstick coating'. That is still a coating on the only surface the rice touches.

Price checked
$66.99 · 2026-11-01
Food-contact
  • Removable pot with PFAS-free ceramic nonstick coating (Hamilton Beach)
  • 2-in-1 rice rinser / steam basket (material not stated)
Made in
Not confirmed this check
Warranty
Not stated on product page

Watch-outs

  • Coated pot
  • Rinser/steam basket material not disclosed

Sources

Retailer link (not an Amazon Associates link). Disclosure.

Ninja Foodi 14-in-1 8-qt XL Pressure Cooker Steam Fryer with SmartLid

Fail

Ninja · Model OL601

Discontinued — not a current buy recommendation. Entry kept for materials context only; no affiliate/buy links.

Why: Ninja's support FAQ says the cooking pot is aluminum with a ceramic nonstick coating, marketed as PTFE-free. SharkNinja's own California AB1200 sheet lists PTFE ('provides a non-stick coating') and aluminum for OL600-series pressure cookers made before 8/15/24. Either way the pot is coated, and so is the crisping basket.

Price checked
Price: varies / not listed · 2026-11-01
No current sharkninja.com listing. The product page returned 404 on 2026-11-01 and the brand's pressure/multicooker category no longer lists any OL model.
Food-contact
  • Aluminum pot with ceramic nonstick coating (Ninja support FAQ)
  • AB1200 sheet: PTFE + aluminum for OL600 series made before 8/15/24
  • Ceramic-coated Cook & Crisp basket
  • Silicone ring (replacement kit 108GX600)
Made in
Not confirmed this check
Warranty
Not confirmed this check

Watch-outs

  • Appears discontinued: no longer in SharkNinja's pressure/multicooker lineup (checked 2026-11-01). No buy links.
  • Recall check 2026-11-01: no CPSC or Health Canada recall matches OL601. Check the model label on any used Ninja Foodi against cpsc.gov before buying.
  • Replacement pots are still sold and are coated too

Sources

No buy links. Discontinued — entry kept for materials context only.

Related: Rice cookers guide